Renfrew County selects new warden today

RENFREW COUNTY – Renfrew County will elect its warden for 2020 today (Dec. 10).

Renfrew County council is the upper-tier municipality made up of representatives of the 17 municipalities the county serves. Renfrew County councillors are usually the mayor or reeve serving in each township or town.

Each year one of the councillors serves as warden which is the head of the county council. The warden position is elected on by county council. Bonnechere Valley Mayor Jennifer Murphy has served as warden for the last three years, guiding the county through two major floods, a tornado, the announcement of the four-laning of Highway 17 from Arnprior to Renfrew and much more. In this morning’s election, Laurentian Valley Reeve Debbie Robinson and McNab-Braeside Mayor Tom Peckett are running for the position.