Ottawa under burn ban

OTTAWA – The Ottawa Fire Service (OFS) is prohibiting open-air fires anywhere in Ottawa.

The OFS announced the burn ban shortly after noon today (July 29).

“All open-air fires are prohibited during a ban, including properties that have an Open Air Fire Permit,” the OFS released in a statement. “This ban applies to agricultural burns, brush pile burns, as well as campfires. There will be zero tolerance enforcement during the fire ban as per the Open Air Fire Bylaw. We appreciate your assistance in preventing grass or other dangerous fires to occur during high risk periods.”

The City of Ottawa joins several other area municipalities that have declared outdoor burn bans. Horton Township also declared today, the municipality will be moving to a Level 2 burn ban, which prohibits all burning including campfires.

As of last Friday, Whitewater Region, Renfrew, Madawaska Valley, Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards, McNab/Braeside and Greater Madawaska townships are all under a complete burn ban. Bonnechere Valley and Brudenell, Lyndoch and Raglan townships are currently under a level one burn ban, where campfires are still allowed, as long as they are small and monitored constantly. The local fire departments are encouraging residents to be safe, responsible and follow all rules when having a fire. The last significant rain to hit the West Carleton area was Friday, July 12. Currently (July 29) the West Carleton area is under a Severe Thunderstorm Watch with conditions favourable for a storm.