Council briefs: New Transportation committee chair

OTTAWA – City Council approved the appointment of Beacon Hill-Cyrville Ward Coun. Tim Tierney as chair of the Transportation committee. Kanata North Ward Coun. Jenna Sudds was appointed as a member of the Hydro Ottawa Holding Inc. board of directors.

Both positions were recently vacated by Cumberland Ward Coun. Stephen Blais, who stepped down to run in the provincial byelection in Orléans.

 The moves were part of a busy city council meeting held at Ottawa City Hall Wednesday, Feb. 12.

Council approved the sale of the Dalhousie Community Centre at 755 Somerset Street West to Somerset Street West Community Health Centre for $1. As part of the transfer, existing community-based tenants would continue to operate, and the non-profit health centre plans to add more programming and services.

Residents of the City View community will vote later this spring on whether to pay a special levy to buy the private property at 21 Withrow Ave. for $4.7 million from Theberge Homes, following council’s approval. Area residents hope to use the 0.8-hectare site as community green space. The property is the site of Kilmorie House, a heritage-designated stone house.

Council approved Official Plan and zoning amendments adding new wetland areas to the Goulbourn Wetland Complex. The complex’s boundaries were amended to align with provincial policies requiring municipalities to protect provincially significant wetlands.  While property designated as wetlands cannot be developed, existing uses can continue.

Council received an interim report from the city’s integrity commissioner regarding the timing of an inquiry regarding the conduct of College Ward Coun. Rick Chiarelli.

Council approved delegating authority to staff to determine when to institute a transit fare increase. The City’s Transit Commission approved the current fare freeze last November. A fare increase would take effect once service on O-Train Line 1 has improved to the City’s satisfaction.

Council also declared that March 8, as International Women’s Day in Ottawa.